DENVER — The American Water Works Association (AWWA) and the American Membrane Technology Association (AMTA) announced the four award winners during this year’s Membrane Technology Conference and Exposition held in Orlando, Florida, March 2-6, according to a press release.

The winners were recognized at an awards luncheon during the conference, stated the release.

Michael Vernon of Indian River County Utilities received the Robert O. Vernon Operator of the Year Award, which recognizes “outstanding contributions by a plant operator working at a membrane filtration, desalination or water reuse facility that resulted in significant, long-term improvement in water production and/or water reuse,” reported the release.

Hydranautics, a Nitto Group Company, won the Membrane Exhibit of the Year Award, which honors organizations highlighting the importance of membrane technology with an exhibit booth at the conference, continued the release.

San Elijo Water Reclamation Facility, added the release, was presented with the Membrane Facility of the Year Award that recognizes a facility using “any membrane technology with high efficiency in an environmentally friendly approach.”

Jorge Arroyo, former director of innovative water technologies for the Texas Water Development Board, received the Water Quality Person of the Year Award, which honors “outstanding contributions by an individual in government, academia, research or other to water supply improvement,” noted the release.