2014 U.S. Water Prize award winners announced

Jan. 23, 2014

WASHINGTON — The award honors organizations with strategies that promote the value of water and sustainability innovation.

WASHINGTON — The awardees of the 2014 U.S. Water Prize were announced at the California Irrigation Institute conference in Sacramento this week, according to a press release.

The winners are: Alliance for Water Efficiency, Chicago, Ill.; American Water, Voorhees, N.J.; Metropolitan Sewer District of Greater Cincinnati, Ohio; and Orange County Water District and Sanitation District, Calif.

"America's future looks bright blue with these shining water stars," said Ben Grumbles, president of the U.S. Water Alliance.  "Our 2014 winners are leading the way by reducing water waste, reusing water resources and rethinking watershed strategies and technologies."

"These winners offer approaches that will build resiliency in the face of challenges like the California drought and other climate change impacts," said Grumbles.

Winners of the U.S. Water Prize, initiated four years ago by the U.S. Water Alliance to elevate those organizations with strategies that promote the value of water and the power of innovating and integrating for one water sustainability, will be honored in an awards ceremony on April 7 at National Geographic headquarters in Washington.

Sponsored Recommendations

NFPA 70B a Step-by-Step Guide to Compliance

NFPA 70B: A Step-by-Step Guide to Compliance

How digital twins drive more environmentally conscious medium- and low-voltage equipment design

Medium- and low voltage equipment specifiers can adopt digital twin technology to adopt a circular economy approach for sustainable, low-carbon equipment design.

MV equipment sustainability depends on environmentally conscious design values

Medium- and low voltage equipment manufacturers can prepare for environmental regulations now by using innovative MV switchgear design that eliminates SF6 use.

Social Distancing from your electrical equipment?

Using digital tools and apps for nearby monitoring and control increases safety and reduces arc flash hazards since electrical equipment can be operated from a safer distance....