Treatment plant receives third Directors Award

CARRBORO, N.C. — The Partnership for Safe Water recognized the water authority for 10 years of high performance.


CARRBORO, N.C. — The Partnership for Safe Water has recognized the Orange Water and Sewer Authority’s (OSAWA) Jones Ferry Road Water Treatment Plant with its 10-Year Directors Award, according to a press release.

The American Water Works Association (AWWA) honored OSAWA with the award at its recent conference, noted the release, for "maintaining a high level of performance for 10 years."

OSAWA also received a Directors Award in 2005 after it took steps to improve performance and optimization, stated the release. It received the award for Excellence in Water Treatment in 2011 and a Directors Award in 2013 for optimizing operation of the drinking water distribution system.

"We are honored to receive the 10-year award," said Ken Loflin, OWASA’s water treatment and supply manager. "Our goal is to continually optimize operations and improve the quality of water we deliver to our customers. The 10-Year Directors Award demonstrates our ongoing commitment to protecting public health."

The Partnership for Safe Water is an alliance of the AWWA, Association of Metropolitan Water Agencies, Association of State Drinking Water Administrators, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, National Association of Water Companies and the Water Research Foundation, reported the release.

Click here to read the entire release.

More in Home