TOPSFIELD, Mass. — The International Desalination Association (IDA) and Global Water Intelligence (GWI) held an online press briefing to discuss the current state of desalination and projected trends today, according to a press release.

The briefing took place at 9 a.m. Eastern Daylight Time in the U.S., 2 p.m. in the UK, 5 p.m. in Dubai and 9 p.m. in Beijing, according to the release; it will be archived online for viewing.

Data from the 26th GWI/IDA Worldwide Desalting Plant Inventory was used for the briefing and released this week prior to IDA's biennial World Congress in Tianjin, China from Oc. 20-25, the release reported.

According to the release, Christopher Gasson, publisher at Global Water Intelligence; Lisa Henthorne, former president and director of IDA and senior vice president and CTO of Water Standard; and Tom Pankratz, desalination consultant and editor of the Water Desalination Report participated in the briefing.

Please visit http://www.idadesal.org/ or http://www.globalwaterintel.com/ for more information.