Legislative leaders present desalination update at Texas Desal 2015

Sept. 21, 2015

Topics include inland brackish and sweater desalination as well as oil and gas technologies.

AUSTIN, Texas — Sept. 17, 2015 — The Texas Desalination Association’s third annual conference, Texas Desal 2015: Innovation & Reliability, will feature 37 speakers from around the world, according to a press release.

Desalination has had several advancements in Texas recently, noted the release. The state legislature passed bills to make the approval process for desalination technology more efficient.

San Antonio’s inland desalination plant completed its first phase, stated the release. It will produce 12 million gallons of freshwater daily, and it may be the state’s first seawater desalination plant.

State legislative and municipal leaders, industry professionals and technological innovators will discuss topics including inland brackish and sweater desalination as well as oil and gas technologies.

Among the event’s 37 speakers are:

  • Pat Mulroy, former general manager of the Las Vegas Water District and Southern Nevada Water Authority, now at the UNLV William S. Boyd School of Law (Keynote address)
  • Texas Water Development Board Director Kathleen Jackson (Opening remarks)
  • Chairman Jim Keffer and Representative Eddie Lucio III (Honored at the VIP reception)
  • Senators Charles Perry and Craig Estes and Chairman Todd Hunter join Chairman Keffer and Representative Lucio for Thursday’s Breakfast with Champions
  • World Desalination Report Editor Tom Pankratz & TCEQ’s Linda Brookins (Moderators, new tech)
  • Mark Lambert, IDE Technologies (Commissioning the Carlsbad plant)
  • Robert Puente, San Antonio Water System (Municipal leaders circle)
  • Gary Crisp, Sacyr (Seawater desalination in Australia)

Sponsors include: RWL Water, Seven Seas Water, Alkema, H2O Innovation, Layne, NRG Energy, Abengoa, Kiewit/Western Summit, Garney Construction, NorrisLeal, Carollo, IDE Technologies, Cinco Ranch MUD #1, City of Conroe, Brownsville Public Utilities Board, El Paso Water Utility, San Antonio Water System, DesalData, Water Desalination Report, The Texas Tribune, Allen Boone Humphries Robinson LLP, Water Standard and Guadalupe-­‐Blanco River Authority.

For more information on the conference and to register, click here.