ALEXANDRIA, Va. — The Water Environment Federation (WEF) proudly announces the recipients of the 2013 WEF Awards. The awards will be presented during WEFTEC 2013, WEF’s 86th Annual Technical Exhibition and Conference, this October in Chicago, Ill., according to a press release.


Camp Applied Research Award

Krishna Pagilla, Chicago, Ill., Central States/Illinois WEA


Collection Systems Award

Robert Villee, Middlesex, N.J., New Jersey WEA


Eddy Wastewater Principles/Processes Medal

Authors: Jes Vollertsen, Thorkild Hvitved Jacobsen and Asbjorn Haaning Nielsen

Article: “Effect of Sewer Headspace Air-Flow on Hydrogen Sulfide Removal by Corroding Concrete Surfaces,” Water Environment Research, March 2012


Emerson Distinguished Service Award

Rao Y. Surampalli, Lenexa, Kan., Nebraska WEA


Fair Distinguished Engineering Educator Medal

Krishna Pagilla, Chicago, Ill., Central States/Illinois WEA


Gascoigne Wastewater Treatment Plant Operational Improvement Medal

Authors: Gary R. Johnson, James Thurrott and Manjiang (MJ) Chen

Article: “Optimizing Low-Level Nitrogen Removal,” Water Environment & Technology, June 2012


Industrial Water Quality Lifetime Achievement Award

Sam E. Shelby, Jr., Brentwood, Tenn., Kentucky-Tennessee WEA


Innovative Technology Award

X-500 Pasteurization Technology Group, San Leandro, Calif.

ES-620 Electro Scan Inc., Sacramento, Calif.

TrojanUVSigna Trojan Technologies, London, Ontario, Canada

Centrisys Centrifuge Thickener – THK Series, Centrisys Corporation, Kenosha, Wis.


McKee Groundwater Protection, Restoration or Sustainable Use Award

Authors: Foued El Ayni, Semia Cherif, Amel Jrad and Malika Trabelsi-Ayadi

Article: “A New Approach for the Assessment of Groundwater Quality and Its Suitability for Irrigation: A Case Study of the Korba Coastal Aquifer (Tunisia, Africa),” Water Environment Research, August 2012


Outstanding Member Association Award

Water Environment Association of Texas (WEAT)


Outstanding Young Water Environment Professional Award

Joan Fernandez, Beltsville, Md., Chesapeake WEA


Public Education Awards

Thomas Meholic, Oakhurst, N.J., New Jersey WEA – Individual Category

Water Environment Association of Ontario – WEF Member Association Category

Clay Township Regional Waste District, Indianapolis, Ind. – Other Category


Public Officials Award

Debra Shore, Commissioner of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

Alexander J. Russin, Resident Country Director, Jordan, Millennium Challenge Corporation

Howard M. Neukrug, Water Commissioner, city of Philadelphia


Rudolfs Industrial Waste Management Medal

Authors: Yong H. Huang, Phani K. Peddi, Cilai Tang, Hui Zeng and Jason (Xinjun) Teng

Article: “Pilot Demonstration of the Activated Iron Process for Removing Heavy Metals from Flue-Gas-Desulfurization (FGD) Wastewater,” Proceedings of WEFTEC 2012


WEF Canham Graduate Studies Scholarship

Ryan C. Locicero, University of South Florida, Tampa, Fla., Florida WEA


WEF Safety Award

CH2M HILL/ Fort Campbell Project, Fort Campbell, Ky.


WEFTEC 2013 will be held at McCormick Place from October 5-9, 2013.

Read the entire press release here.