WASHINGTON — In an Earth Day ceremony at National Geographic Headquarters, in Washington D.C., the U.S. Water Alliance presented its U.S. Water Prize to three winners: MillerCoors, The Freshwater Trust and Onondaga County (NY), according to a press release.

The Honorable William K. Reilly (U.S. EPA Administrator 1989-93) addressed the audience of 300 environmental leaders gathered to honor the awardees, recounting environmental challenges over the years and the growing need for innovative solutions.

The U.S. Water Alliance presents the annual award to foster action and public support for water sustainability.

Nominations were reviewed by an independent panel of judges including some of the most respected names in the water and environmental sector.

“We’re honoring three champions who are diverse in so many ways yet united in their passion and action to integrate and innovate for “one water” sustainability” proclaims Ben Grumbles, president of the Alliance. “They are winners for their courage to think and act outside the box and sometimes against the current. They offer leadership that coalesces public, private and NGO partnerships to produce economic, environmental and social benefits.”

Read the entire press release here.