WaterRF announces winners of two industry award programs

June 10, 2013

DENVER — The Research Innovation Award and two Outstanding Subscriber Awards were handed down by WaterRF.

DENVER — At its annual Subscriber Breakfast, the Water Research Foundation (WaterRF) announced the winners of its two industry award programs, according to a press release.

The Research Innovation Award honors researchers and research teams who have made significant contributions to advancing the science of water through Foundation-sponsored research. 

The Outstanding Subscriber Award for Applied Research honors subscribing utilities that have made notable improvements to their treatment, delivery and/or management processes through the successful application of Foundation research.

This year’s Research Innovation Award was presented to Mark LeChevallier, the director of Innovation and Environmental Stewardship, at American Water. In a 25-year career, LeChevallier has been involved in 50 Foundation projects. He has made significant contributions in understanding the microbiology of water. In addition, his work has had a direct impact on improving water quality and, in turn, protecting public health for all Americans.

Two Outstanding Subscriber Awards for Applied Research were presented at this year’s event. The first was awarded to the Las Vegas Valley Water District (LVVWD), recognized as one of the early supporters of the Water Research Foundation. LVVWD is a member agency of the Southern Nevada Water Authority. In the last 25 years, it has played a critical role in guiding and participating in research that has benefitted the broader drinking water community.

A second Outstanding Subscriber for Applied Research Award was presented to the Portland Water Bureau (PWB). Throughout a relationship that has lasted more than 25 years, PWB has proven to be a supportive and innovative Subscriber. Its staff has been actively sharing their knowledge and expertise, most notably on climate change and infrastructure. WaterRF has benefited tremendously from its spirit of collaboration, with numerous members of its staff participating in research and administrative capacities on a volunteer basis for the Foundation.

In announcing the awards and the 2013 winners, Executive Director Rob Renner said, “This year’s winners represent the “Gold Standard” when it comes to researchers and subscribing utilities. Quite simply, we could not achieve our mission without their tireless support. The international water community and the public they serve, benefit from their contributions to advancing the science of water.”

Award nominations are accepted from the Foundation’s Board of Trustees, staff, subscribers, researchers and other partners. The Foundation’s Board of Trustees’ Awards Committee selects each year’s winners.

Sponsored Recommendations

NFPA 70B a Step-by-Step Guide to Compliance

NFPA 70B: A Step-by-Step Guide to Compliance

How digital twins drive more environmentally conscious medium- and low-voltage equipment design

Medium- and low voltage equipment specifiers can adopt digital twin technology to adopt a circular economy approach for sustainable, low-carbon equipment design.

MV equipment sustainability depends on environmentally conscious design values

Medium- and low voltage equipment manufacturers can prepare for environmental regulations now by using innovative MV switchgear design that eliminates SF6 use.

Social Distancing from your electrical equipment?

Using digital tools and apps for nearby monitoring and control increases safety and reduces arc flash hazards since electrical equipment can be operated from a safer distance....