ALEXANDRIA, Va. — The Water Environment Federation (WEF) revealed the 2015 winners of its annual WEF Awards program, according to a press release.

The honorees include individuals and organizations that have contributed to the water environment profession, WEF and its member associations, noted the release. The awards will be presented at WEFTEC 2015 in Chicago in September.

The winners are:

  • Eddy Wastewater Principles/Processes Medal
    “Ammonia-Based Feedforward and Feedback Aeration Control in Activated Sludge Processes,” Leiv Rieger, Richard M. Jones, Peter L. Dold, and Charles B. Bott, Water Environment Research, January 2014, v. 86, no. 1, p. 63
  • Gascoigne Wastewater Treatment Plant Operational Improvement Medal
    “Finding the Right System Balance”, Darrell DeWitt, David L. Wagoner and Jacqueline Jarrell, Water Environment & Technology, February 2014, v. 26, no. 2, p. 32
  • Wesley Eckenfelder Industrial Water Quality Lifetime Achievement Award
    James C. Young
  • Innovative Technology Award
    Algaewheel – OneWater Inc.
  • McKee Groundwater Protection, Restoration or Sustainable Use Award
    “Performance Evaluation of a Dual-Flow Recharge Filter for Improving Groundwater Quality”, Manoj P. Samuel, S. Senthilvel and Abraham C. Mathew, Water Environment Research, July 2014, v. 86 no. 7, pp. 615-625
  • Public Officials Award
    Commissioner Frank Avila, Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater ChicagoMaggie Brooks-Monroe County, New York County ExecutiveThe Honorable Laurel Prussing, Mayor of Urbana, Il
  • Rudolfs Industrial Waste Management Medal
    “Start up and Commissioning of a Membrane Bioreactor Plant Treating a High TDS Refinery Wastewater”, Mauro Marinetti, Kar Munirathinam, Bernardino Ciongoli, Carlo Zaffaroni, Ali Redha, Proceedings of WEFTEC 2014, pp. 2245-2260
  • Schlenz Public Education Medal
    Ashley Halsey III & Bonnie Berkowitz
  • Water Quality Improvement Award
    Roseburg Urban Sanitary Authority, Ore.
  • WEF Safety Award
    AR Wastewater Treatment Plant, Montrose, Mich.
    Orange County Sanitation District. Fountain Valley, Calif.

Click here to read the entire release.