ORLANDO, Fla. — The opening general session of WQA Aquatech 2014 was a non-stop hour and a half recap of the Water Quality Association's (WQA) work this year, a peek into the coming year’s goals and a full roster of association business including elections to the board of directors and an awards ceremony.

Elections to the board of directors included four categories: Manufacturers/suppliers, dealers, commercial/industrial and retail channel.

The following manufacturers/suppliers were elected to the board: Frank A. Brigano, Ph.D. of KX Technologies LLC in West Haven, Conn.; Scott Clawson of Culligan International in Rosemont, Ill.; and Stephen Ver Strat of Access Business Group LLC in Ada, Mich.

In the commercial/industrial category, Cedella Beazley of Dow Water & Process Solutions in Edina, Minn. was elected to the board.

Dealers elected to the board included: Ronald Edwards, CWS-III of Hague Quality Water of Maryland Inc. in Annapolis, Md.; Thomas Harrington of DS Waters in Atlanta, Ga.; Donald K. McGhee, CWS-VI of Hydro Systems Inc. in Harlingen, Texas; and Michael J. McGowan, CWS-IV of McGowan Water Conditioning Inc. in Mankato, Minn.

Robert Maisner of Paragon Water Systems in Tampa, Fla. was elected to the board in the retail channel.

Twelve awards were presented at the 2014 WQA Aquatech awards ceremony.

Charles "Chubb" Michaud, CWS-VI of Systematix in Buena Park, Calif. received the Hall of Fame award, the highest honor bestowed on a WQA member, for his lifetime dedication and service to the water quality improvement industry and the association.

Robert Slovak of AROMAN Inc. in Incline Village, Nev. was awarded the Lifetime Membership award for being active in the industry and supporting WQA throughout his career.

The Key Award, recognizing a member for demonstrating leadership within his/her company, industry and associations, went to Keith Brown of Kinetico Incorporated in Newbury, Ohio.

Board member Donald K. McGhee, CWS-VI was honored with the Ray Cross Award, recognizing WQA members whose pioneer spirit and unwavering commitment has made a notable difference in the industry.

The Regents Award, presented to an individual or group for making a significant contribution at the state or local level working with ethical, legislative or educational issues facing the industry, went to William P. Maher, CI of Maher Water Corporation in Stevens Point, Wis.

Three Awards of Merit were presented in recognition of exceptional service to the industry, going to: Dave Averbeck of Pentair in Milwaukee, Wis.; Robert Curtis of Clack Corporation in Santa Fe Springs, Calif.; and Ellery "Al" Horn of Clearwater Systems in Akron, Ohio.

The International Award of Merit, given to a person or group that has made significant contributions to the industry, went to Knut Sauerbier of Brita GmbH in Taunusstein, Germany, who has helped WQA keep up with evolving European water treatment standards.

Assemblyman Louis Alejo, who represents the 30th California Assembly District, received the Honorary Membership Award for his work moving 3rd party certification legislation forward in that state.

Membership Recruitment Awards were given to two individuals: The Platinum Award went to Joanne W. Grace of R G & Associates Incorporated in Victoria, Texas for recruiting 75 new members during her lifetime, while the Quality Circle Award went to Edward (Ted) Jones, CWS-VI of Kinetico Incorporated in Carmichael, Calif. for recruiting 30 new members during his lifetime.