WEF announces 2015 awards recipients

Aug. 14, 2015

ALEXANDRIA, Va. — Honorees will be recognized at WEFTEC 2015 in Chicago in September.

ALEXANDRIA, Va. — The Water Environment Federation (WEF) revealed the 2015 winners of its annual WEF Awards program, according to a press release.

The honorees include individuals and organizations that have contributed to the water environment profession, WEF and its member associations, noted the release. The awards will be presented at WEFTEC 2015 in Chicago in September.

The winners are:

  • Eddy Wastewater Principles/Processes Medal
    "Ammonia-Based Feedforward and Feedback Aeration Control in Activated Sludge Processes," Leiv Rieger, Richard M. Jones, Peter L. Dold, and Charles B. Bott, Water Environment Research, January 2014, v. 86, no. 1, p. 63
    Fair Distinguished Engineering Educator Medal
    Francis L. de los Reyes III
    North Carolina State University Paul C. Johnson
    Arizona State University
    • Gascoigne Wastewater Treatment Plant Operational Improvement Medal
      "Finding the Right System Balance", Darrell DeWitt, David L. Wagoner and Jacqueline Jarrell, Water Environment & Technology, February 2014, v. 26, no. 2, p. 32
    • Wesley Eckenfelder Industrial Water Quality Lifetime Achievement Award
      James C. Young
    • Innovative Technology Award
      Algaewheel – OneWater Inc.
    • McKee Groundwater Protection, Restoration or Sustainable Use Award
      "Performance Evaluation of a Dual-Flow Recharge Filter for Improving Groundwater Quality", Manoj P. Samuel, S. Senthilvel and Abraham C. Mathew, Water Environment Research, July 2014, v. 86 no. 7, pp. 615-625
    Public Education Awards
    Member Association Category:
    Indiana Water Environment Association

    Other Category:
    San Antonio Water System Youth Education IMPACT Program

    • Public Officials Award
      Commissioner Frank Avila, Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater ChicagoMaggie Brooks-Monroe County, New York County ExecutiveThe Honorable Laurel Prussing, Mayor of Urbana, Il
    • Rudolfs Industrial Waste Management Medal
      "Start up and Commissioning of a Membrane Bioreactor Plant Treating a High TDS Refinery Wastewater", Mauro Marinetti, Kar Munirathinam, Bernardino Ciongoli, Carlo Zaffaroni, Ali Redha, Proceedings of WEFTEC 2014, pp. 2245-2260
    • Schlenz Public Education Medal
      Ashley Halsey III & Bonnie Berkowitz
    • Water Quality Improvement Award
      Roseburg Urban Sanitary Authority, Ore.
    • WEF Safety Award
      AR Wastewater Treatment Plant, Montrose, Mich.
      Orange County Sanitation District. Fountain Valley, Calif.

    Click here to read the entire release.